Hair Journey

Back to Basics | Natural Hair Care

Hey guys 🙂

So funny story, would you believe me when I say I actually forgot about my blog? Sad, I know. Since I started posting videos I forgot about blogging. I apologize for that to my avid readers.

So I decided to share my ‘hair basic needs’ because I felt that people are instead worrying more about what products would give them miraculous results overnight, which is far from reality. I think that its more important to know exactly what you’re doing at a farm before buying tools.

I summarized everything I know into four key points:

  • Cleansing
  • Moisturizing
  • Strengthening
  • Protecting

Cleansing

We all know having clean hair and a clean scalp is essential to healthy hair. This involves shampooing your hair, preferably with a sulphate-free shampoo, at least once every two weeks.

Products: shampoo

Moisturizing

This is a broken record by now. We all know when our hair feels dry and that’s how often you need to moisturize it. Moisturizing goes hand in hand with sealing. Some prefer using the Liquid-Oil-Cream, which is what I use, others the Liquid-Cream-Oil. I think you should try both and see which one works best for your hair. I also think that the method also depends on your hair’s porosity (I’ll talk about this more in another post soon).

Products: water, leave-in-conditioner/moisture milk, oils, butters/creams

Strengthening

This basically means nourishing your hair, from within (proper diet and water) and without: deep conditioning. (See more about deep conditioning in the video below).Deep conditioning your hair is necessary after every wash. Whenever your hair feels really dry and brittle, use a moisturizing deep conditioner; and whenever it feels limp and overly soft, use a protein deep conditioner. Refer to the Protein-Moisture Balance post here.

Strengthening also involves using natural oils, especially those that penetrate the shaft and condition your hair like coconut, olive, avocado, almond, jojoba, castor oil etc. Think of it like feeding your hair.

Products: deep conditioner (protein and moisturizing), oils

Protection

Finally, after doing all this good things, you need to make sure that your hair is safe from damage by:

  • Preventing knots and tangles by washing your hair in sections, keeping your hair stretched and sleeping in a satin scarf or on a satin pillowcase.
  • Keeping your hair in low manipulation styles like twists, braids, up-dos etc. so that your hair is safe from combs and your hands.
  • Trimming split ends as soon as they occur so as to prevent them from travelling up the shaft.

Oh, and the most important point is to be consistent with it: make it a regimen. Healthy hair is a journey not an overnight miracle. So find out what your hair needs first, then get products for that specific purpose, not just because its the talk of the town.

Make it a point to know exactly what every product you have does for you. Also read ingredients especially when you need to compare prices. From my experience most products have the same base ingredients so most of the time its the ‘brand name’ you’re buying.

I would classify the other products as ‘aesthetic enhancers‘ i.e curling creams and gels. Its up to you whether you want to use them or not.

So yeah, that’s  it for this one. Feel free to add, remove or ask questions. Here’s the video:

 

 

See you on the next one ❤

2 thoughts on “Back to Basics | Natural Hair Care

You were saying :) ...

