Hair Journey

Kinky Twists Maintenance | Moisturizing and Sealing

Hey goodies.

We tend to neglect our hair when in long term protective styles. This leads to breakage when taking them down because our hair is dry and weak.

I was just preparing to moisturize my hair so I decided to share with you how I quench my hair in kinky twists (that I installed in my previous post here). Its pretty simple and will take about 10 minutes of your busy life.

I use the LOC method (read more about it here) because it helps my hair retain moisture.

Liquid – a mixture of good ol’ water, Aloe Vera juice and glycerin.

IMG_0289

Aloe Vera juice benefits:
– Being a humectant, it draws moisture to your hair.
– Restore the natural pH balance of the hair and scalp (acidic). This also helps close hair cuticles, promoting moisture retention.
– Reduces dandruff; I don’t have dandruff
– Promotes shine

Glycerin benefits:
– Its also a humectant.

You have to be careful with glycerin though. In humid environments, it’ll absorb too much moisture from the atmosphere, raising the cuticles and making the hair swell. In dry environments, it may absorb moisture from your hair and scalp making it dry, flaky and itchy.

It works for some and doesn’t for others. I use a little amount to be safe.

– Its an effective curl-definer and frizz minimizer due to its low viscosity.

Oil – a mixture of coconut and castor oil; sometimes olive oil.

IMG_0293

I bought this handy dandy applicator bottle with many nozzles from Ciku Beauty or the physical shop: Markucha Salon, Corner House, 3rd Mezzanine floor. Makes oiling such a simple task.

I spray the liquid on my roots, oil my scalp then apply cream/butter. With extensions, your hair is straight underneath; so moisture is able to travel down the strands with ease.

Cream – Shea Butter that I have fallen in love with of late.

I do this whenever my hair feels dry or my scalp is itchy. You want to avoid build up so don’t apply product often, only when necessary.

Hope that helps.

 

 

See you on the next one.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Kinky Twists Maintenance | Moisturizing and Sealing

  1. Where do i get raw shea butter in kenya and at how much… Diy project december; kinky twists… Love love love your blog❤❤❤❤❤❤❤

You were saying :) ...

