DIY projects · Hair Journey

Homemade Flaxseed Gel

Hey there.

This post was supposed to be up last week; then I forgot, or I was sure I had posted already 😀 So I loathe gel; flat out despise it. Something about the hardness it gives to hair and the residue just puts me off. I know there are good ones out there, I’m just yet to find it.

I came across flax seeds and learnt that you can make gel from them and that’s exactly what I did.

Pros:

  • natural
  • lightweight
  • no residue
  • no hard feeling once it dries

Cons:

I don’t know of any yet.

You can get flax seeds from health shops like Healthy U and Health Shoppe; though I could only find big batches. Then I found these lovely people called Captivating Naturals on facebook selling this small tin at Kshs.280.

IMG_9342
It says ‘Gel’ on the label but its packed seeds

 

It comes with instructions. Basically the seeds are boiled in water to release the gel (takes about 10-15 minutes). Its then sieved to separate the seeds from the gel. Then stored in the fridge. You can add essential oils for a lovely scent because its odorless on its own. Theirs comes with a scented oil mixture. The entire process should take you under half an hour.

IMG_9344

The seeds can be reused; I don’t know how many times though.

Its safe to make a small amount at a time, especially if you won’t use it often.

I made so many mistakes:

  1. I decide to sieve using a strainer at first; but the gel was too thick to go through. So that was a waste of time, time that made the gel cool and become tackier so…
  2. I had to boil the gel a bit more in more water to loosen it.
  3. I used a weak pair of plastic tongs to squeeze out the gel, therego they broke; oh my days!
  4. Smart me decided to squeeze using my hands, big mistake. Almost got first degree burns.

Here’s how I made mine

So before you decide to make yours, make sure you have everything ready so that you waste no time.

See you on the next one ❤

You were saying :) ...

