Hair Journey

Wash Routine | African Threading

Hello 🙂 Happy new month. 2015 is moving so fast.

My dirty hair got some tlc this past weekend and now she feels amazing. I decided to share with you my wash routine because a couple of things have change from this.

First and foremost, I section my hair into four parts that I maintain throughout; makes the process a bit more orderly.

IMG_20150301_130806

Pre-poo

This is a preparation treatment before shampooing; most commonly with an oil. I use coconut oil because it decreases the amount of swelling of the hair shaft that normally occurs when it absorbs water. Swelling makes the cuticles lift and separate making strands tangle and break.

After finger detangling, I soak, literally soak, my hair in extra virgin coco oil and let it sit for about half an hour, or overnight if I plan to wash my hair the next day.

Shampoo

Instead of slapping shampoo onto my palms and rubbing it on my scalp, I dilute it in a bottle and puncture the top.

IMG_20150303_102416

I feel like its a lot less abrasive and adding water to it before hand makes it easy to distribute evenly. Call it psychological comfort 😛 its just how I prefer nowadays.

I gently pull a section taut, squirt the shampoo on my scalp and scrub-a-dub-dub with my fingertips, then squeeze through the shaft and loosely braid it to keep the hair from tangling and move on to the next section. Finally I rinse the separate sections.

Deep Condition

I apply the treatment to each section and let it sit for the amount of time written on the tub, its often 30 minutes. I learnt that your hair has already taken in what it needs in that amount of time so its pointless to go longer than advised. I then rinse the sections separately.

Air drying & stretching

I apply my leave-in, oil and cream then air dry my hair for some time before setting or styling it; yields better results. If I want to stretch it, I detangle and band like so: not too tight at the roots though.

IMG_20150215_150115

This time I decided to try African threading. Its a common method of stretching hair as it dries.Its advisable to use weaving thread because its stronger (doesn’t cut easy). To create the corkscrew effect, push the hair up after each wrap.

Hopefully this video will make more sense of it

I know, it looks crazy; but after one night under a satin scarf I look sane 😀

This is all the hair I lost during detangling; so clearly my method is working (that’s hair from the brush) I’m so happy I’m retaining length 🙂

IMG_20150303_102507

I can’t remember how long it took me; I watched the saucy how to get away with murder episode and a bit of boyhood, so not more than two hours.

The next morning I wasn’t ready to undo them, so I wore them out; and I’ll do so till my next wash. My mother says I look like I ran away from kindergarten 😀 but its okay lol. Its a great ‘no’ manipulation style; and it would look better on thicker hair. I have fine spacey hair hence the thin look.

PicsArt_1425285282536.

That’s my wash routine, quite simple I believe. What’s yours? See you on the next one 🙂

5 thoughts on “Wash Routine | African Threading

You were saying :) ...

