Hair Journey

French Minnie Bun

Hey there.

I wore this over the weekend after undoing crotchet braids. I wanted to wear a big bun, but I braided my hair without stretching so I was left with a ton of shrinkage after undoing it; so I had to use extensions. My hair was dirty and uncombed, except for the perimeter which was slightly detangled and brushed to hide the rest.

To add some kick to it, I french-braided the back half.

IMG_20150217_182147For the bun, you can either use a sock bun or extensions. To make a doughnut bun, cut off the toes of an old sock (whose colour is close to your hair colour), then simply roll it up to form a doughnut like so:

PicsArt_1424187437913To use it, tie you hair into a ponytail and wrap your hair around the sock bun to cover it up like so:

PicsArt_1424187138480But my shrunken hair baked a tiny doughnut πŸ˜€ so I opted to use extensions; the Cuban Twist that I had just undone. I tied a bunch with a hair tie at the middle:

IMG_20150213_150627(1)Then tied that hair band to my ponytail and wrapped it around to created a fuller bun.

IMG_20150215_150250Or if you’re feeling all Minnie Mouse like I was, separate it into three, two sides and a middle:

IMG_20150213_151753Wrap the two outer sections in opposite directions to create the ‘ears’:

IMG_20150213_152105Then pull the middle section across the middle to cover it then wrap it under to hide it. I hope that makes sense πŸ™‚

PicsArt_1424187274039Okay, maybe the bow accessory was pushing it a little too far πŸ˜› sue me. Its just so cute!

P.S. If you’ve noticed, my hair is almost all black compared to the colour in March last year as seen here. Let me be extremely honest; I deeply regret dyeing my hair to this day. One, it faded. DO NOT use Subaru hair dye. It looks amazing for the first few months, then… not so much. Two, I haven’t seen much growth, compared to my normal rate, which can only mean that its growing as fast as its breaking. Its not cut my hair so much – I mean it has grown a lot, but not as it would have otherwise – but I can tell it has. At least I can say I’ve coloured my hair once in my life.

I hope I’m not putting anyone off colouring their hair, its different for different people right? All I know is that I’m never doing it again. What do you feel about hair colour?

See you on the next one πŸ™‚ I’ll take you through my current wash routine.

 

 

18 thoughts on “French Minnie Bun

    1. Share when you do πŸ™‚
      Haha thank you for watching! I’m thinking of getting more naturalistas to vlog with. Its a tad boring alone. Let me know if you’re interested.

You were saying :) ...

