Hair Journey

Protective Styling | Flat Twist Updo

Hey there.

I just want to come out and say that my hair has been out and about for quite a while now and its time to chill; it was in a bun for the past week at least. Time to do some protective styles; you’ll be seeing a lot of those.


We all know that for a do to be called a protective style, your ends should be safe (free from friction) and the style should last you a while with no manipulation. That means more DIYs here πŸ˜‰

So I decided to try a flat twist updo. My hair is thicker now so it would make for lovely plump flat twists. I’m starting off with a week old hair. Since I plan to keep these in for about a week or so, I moisturized again with a bit of my water+glycerin mist, oil mix and Olive oil hair cream.

IMG_20141114_153211

I started off by making 4 sections: the back, two sides and the crown. Starting from the back, part medium sized lines, moisturize, seal and begin flat twisting. I don’t really know how to explain it in words πŸ˜€ channel maybe? *hint

Anyway, its really simple; divide the beginning into two sections, twist along the part as you pick more hair till you get to the end. What I love about flat twists is they are loose so you don’t have to worry about pulling at your roots; and loose means plump and effortless-looking. Size and direction depend on the look you’re going for. This is mine

IMG_20141114_183304

Repeat all over. I decided to have the crown ones fall to the front. Here’s how they turned out; took me about 50 minutes. Feel free to sleek your edges and accessorize.

IMG_20141114_182115

I’ve done flat twists before, but they have never been this neat and even. I’m so proud of myself πŸ™‚

How are you protective styling? See you on the next one.

 

6 thoughts on “Protective Styling | Flat Twist Updo

You were saying :) ...

