DIY projects · Hair Journey

DIY Bob Cut Box Braids

Hey there. Been a while.

So I got my hair braided yesterday in hopes of getting them cut into a bob. I went to three salons today and they all sounded shifty so I decided to do it myself. Giant leap of faith, I know, but isn’t that what life’s about? πŸ˜€ I just told myself that we’d make it work no matter how it turned out.

What you’ll need:

  • rubber bands
  • scissors
  • candle/lighter

First, part your braids how you’d like to be wearing them. I like me a side part. Ignore the headband, these braids couldn’t stay put.

IMG_20140622_080642Decide how short you want them to be; where you’ll cut, and use rubber bands to mark. I started banding single braids, then I got tired and bunched them up. Be careful about the back though, the band will probably get to your hair; just move it lower πŸ˜› My ends are coloured so its very easy to tell.

PicsArt_1403456935767Light your candle or whatever. Using the pair of scissors, cut below the band. Pass the blunt edge over the fire to melt the synthetic hair a little, then roll it between two fingers to seal. Be careful with the naked fire and where you place it.

PicsArt_1403456971976Reaching the back is a little tricky. I got candle wax burns because I kept tilting the candle πŸ˜€ Just get someone to help you with that section.

So when they are all done remove the rubber bands and you’re done.

IMG_20140622_201327

I love how they turned out! Short, but long enough to tie into a ponytail if I don’t want hair in my face. So yeah, phew!

Would you try this?

See you on the next one.

 

13 thoughts on “DIY Bob Cut Box Braids

  1. Dear what kind of hair did you use?
    Heat or Water?
    I would like to do this hairstyle, I use to do it all the time when I was little but now I want to try it myself, just don’t know which kinda hair they used to make it ‘curl’ so it got volume, since I don’t want them to be sleek and just fall ‘straight’ down

    I hope you can help and I thank you in advance!
    Emin

    1. I used the usual Kanekalon braids. They curled on their own after burning the ends, didn’t use heat or water. For greater volume I’d suggest slightly smaller parts; not to small though!
      Hope that helps πŸ™‚

You were saying :) ...

